Florida Auto Insurance Liability Minimums

Florida Auto Insurance Liability Minimums

Each state has its own set of liability premiums for auto insurance.  The liability premiums represent the amount of money your company will pay out at a maximum for each person injured and for the accident in its totality.  The higher the liability premium, the better coverage is your liability insurance.  Most states have a minimum liability insurance amount and you’re required to pay insurance for at least the minimum number.

Every state has a set minimum and Florida is no different.  Like most states, Florida has a no-fault policy, which means that your policy will pay your personal medical costs even if you weren’t at fault in the accident.

The Florida auto insurance liability minimums are relatively low, only $10,000 dollars.  This is easily lower the price of a hospitalization for an injury.  The property damage liability figures are just as low, only $10,000.  It is easy to incur this amount of property damage, after which you will be liable.  Think about these numbers when signing up for auto insurance and decide whether you want more liability auto insurance—not just the minimum amount.

What does Personal Injury Protection Cover?

The Florida auto insurance liability minimums include personal injury protection.  Personal injury is an injury anyone gets because of an accident.  It includes the following sets of people:

  • You as a pedestrian or bicyclist in an accident.
  • You as a driver of a motor vehicle
  • Any member of your household who is also injured
  • Your child who might get injured on the bus going or coming from school
  • Any passenger in your car who doesn’t have their own car and doesn’t have personal injury coverage themselves.

This means that if you are a passenger in someone else’s car and they don’t have insurance (or even if they do), it is your personal injury protection that protects you from having to pay high prices at the doctor’s office or hospital.

What about Property Damage Liability?

Property damage liability involves any damages you cause to a person’s home, buildings or other personal property.  The minimum is $10,000. This can be too low a sum when it comes to damaging someone’s home or a non-residential building.  Make sure you are prepared to pay whatever amount exceeds that liability amount.

What happens if you don’t get the minimum?

Insurance companies know the state minimum and will guide you to purchase at least the minimum amount of insurance.  If you cancel your insurance for any reason, the department of highway safety and motor vehicles in Florida will be notified and will send you a letter and will suspend your driver’s lights, your registration and your plates.  They will give you some time to reinstate your car insurance for the state of Florida with someone like FLoridainsurancequotes.net.

It will cost you a fee to reinstate your insurance after cancellation.  It costs $150 for the first offense and $250 fine for the second offense.  For each offense thereafter, you’ll pay $500 to get all of your driver’s needs reinstated.

If you can prove that the cancellation was a mistake and that you have proof of insurance by some reputable company with the minimums established, the state of Florida will reinstate everything at no cost to you, provided you have given your proof before the suspension date.